You may have moved to Texas or purchased a new vehicle, either way, you have to register your vehicle at the county’s DMV. Registration includes a vehicle inspection, registration fees, forms that need to be filled and recorded, and changing your license plate. Registering a leased vehicle in texas is a compulsory legal procedure.
So, what are the steps needed to be taken when registering a leased vehicle in Texas?
Applying for registration
- Visit the local Texas tax office
- Fill in an Application for Texas Certificate of Title form
- You need to provide proof of ID, ownership, car insurance, and vehicle inspection
- The registration incurs a standard fee of $51.75 (additional fees may apply)
If you are new to Texas
- You have 30 days after residency to get your vehicle registered
- Before going to the county tax office make sure the following are available: auto insurance and vehicle safety inspection (requires proof of auto insurance)
If all of the above is prepared, visit the local county tax office and show:
- Proof of car insurance
- Proof of passed vehicle safety test
- Proof of vehicle ownership (registration or title from the previous resident state)
- Completed Title form (must be filled for registration even if the vehicle has been titled before)
Afterwards, you are required to pay the registration fee which may include additional titling or sales tax fees depending on your situation.
If you have just purchased/leased a new vehicle the same steps apply, you have 30 days to get the vehicle registered and titled.
- You have to pay a vehicle inspection fee to the inspection station, and a collection fee to the Texas DPS
- The registration fees are between $30 to $54 depending on your vehicle, with motorcycles and mopeds requiring the lowest fee
- You are also required to pay other local, state, county fees, and tax, that differs from county to county:
– Automation fee: $1
– TexasSure insurance verification fee: $1
– Local fee: $10
– Inspection fee: $7.50
– Processing and handling fee: $4.75
– The state charges a 6.25% tax rate depending on the vehicle
License plates and registration sticker
You will be provided with new license plates after registration, the plates can be replaced at the local county tax assessor’s office.
The county tax office issues the registration stickers which include:
– The license plate number
– The name of the county where the vehicle is registered
– Several digits from the vehicle identification number (VIN)
– The vehicle’s registration date
The sticker should be fixed to the windshield of the vehicle. The registration expires by the last day of the month shown on the sticker. There is a grace period of 5 days given by the state, if the registration is not renewed vehicle owners have to pay a fine of $200.
- Note that each county may have different requirements, some counties may ask for an emissions test to be eligible for registration.
- The vehicle inspection date now coincides with the registration renewal date, you will be issued one sticker indicating proof that both criteria are fulfilled. For a first-time registrant, the vehicle inspection should be done before registering the vehicle.
For more information visit the official DMV site: https://www.dmv.org/tx-texas/car-registration.php
Have you registered a vehicle in the state of Texas before? Let our Car Rental Software team know what your experience was like by tweeting @Navotar.